Light A Candle

by Alison L.

Sorry I didn’t write yesterday!

I’ve got a pretty good reason why though. My wedesndays sometimes drive me insane. They’re so hectic! First of all, 

Lessons till 2:15

2:30 – 3:30: Community and Service

3:30 – 4:15: Free Time, which sounds like a lot but don’t be fooled. It takes about 10 minutes to walk back to House and then I have to watch some TV, tidy my room and then change.

4:30 – 5:50: Orchestra + Camerata (string group ie. violins, cellos, double basses)

6:00 – 7:00: Chapel Choir

7:00 – 7:30: Dinner

7:30 – 9:00: Phantom Of the Opera Rehearsals (By the way, this is going to be amazing and I love Patrick’s (the guy who plays Raoul) voice. It’s actually so ridiculously beautiful.

9:00- 9:20: Shower and change

9:20 – 10:00: Prep (which if you remember from my previous posts means homework)

10:00 – 10:45: House Singing Rehearsal (which is this silly competition between Houses here. My violin teachers love to call it “House Shout” because most Houses aren’t exactly very good at singing altogether. Plus, it gets a little rowdy at times when some houses just want to screw around – which is of course, tradition.

10:45 – 11:00: More Prep

Now, I could work longer but I’m kind of really sick so sleeping late probably wouldn’t be such a great idea.

ANYWAY. So. Today.

I just came back from Phantom rehearsals during which we rehearsed act 1 and it’s getting good! The performance is in exactly 11 days time and I am so excited. They’re putting up the sets and chandelier and everything right now. I can’t wait to see what it looks like! But yeah, 11 days only. 11 days and then it’s all gone. I’ve made so many friends during the course of being in this musical. I absolutely loved every single bit of it. Plus, I’m a HUGE Phantom geek. I read fanfictions and everything. Yep. I profess, I’m obsessed. 

But yeah, I’ve made so many friends and I can’t imagine what would have happened if I didn’t get to know those people. Some people say that joining things like orchestra or choir or whatever actually connects you to people and that is something that I find to be utterly true. Just today, I had dinner with my phantom friends and when I walked through the music school Phin said hi to me and yeah I’ve just made so many friends through theatre and music. 

Okay now we come to the title of this entry. Basically as I was walking back to House. I bumped into Sonny, who’s mum was Jackie Tyler in Doctor Who just by the way. You know, no big deal. Especially if you’re a crazy Whovian like me! But yeah, so I bumped into him and he said that he wanted to light a candle at chapel but he couldn’t open the door. So I helped him get in and we lit candles together. I sincerely hope he never finds my blog because he’ll probably think I’m crazy obsessed but I’m not. It was nice that’s all. However, in my excitement to light that candle, I completely forgot to make a wish so now, I’m making one. It still counts. I insist upon it. So here goes. 

There. Done. So, the lighting of the candle is really just symbolic of how you can open so many doors for yourself, make friends, build connections and as cheesy as it sounds, genuinely enrich your life. Being a loner is so overrated. So don’t be one! Get out there and do stuff. Find a friend and light your own candle in chapel and make that wish because there’s so much of the world out there and it’s time you started to really see it and love it.

Until tomorrow,

A.

PS: Catch my song of the day here. It’s Phantom time!

